5. Zhixi Building
The building dates back to 1956 when it was commissioned, during the first phase of university construction. It has been remodeled several times, and has been used for different purposes.
The first floor, the bottom portion of the U-shape, was completed in 1957; second and third floors were completed in 1958. The addition of two wings was planned in 1957, and finished two years later, in 1959. At first it housed the library, the Ministry of Education offices, and departmental offices. With the completion of Chung Cheng Library in 1977, the building took on its new function, that of housing the Office of Academic Affairs and faculty research offices. Interior remodeling began in 1981 and was completed in 1982. In 1990, the Office of Academic Affairs moved to the Administration Building, making ways for Departments of Psychology and Mathematics. The Zhixi building became home for the College of Science in 1994 when the college expanded to include the Department of Information Science.
Zhixi building was named in honor of Mr. Chia-lun Luo, who was also known as Zhi-xi. Born in Shaoxing, Zhejiang Province, Mr. Luo qualified by examination for admission to the School of Arts at Peking University in 1917. He participated in the May Fourth Movement in 1919 and went to the United States and Europe for graduate studies a year later, in the fall of 1920. He became the President of Tsinhua University in 1928 and served as a committee member of University Affairs at the Central Political School, the forerunner of National Chengchi University, in 1929. He became Dean of Academic Affairs and Superintendent of the Central Political School at Nanjing, in January 1931. After 1952 he served as Vice President of the Examination Yuan and the Director of National History Institute.
The three-story structure of 2345 square meters boasts a modern garden and features green tile and grey walls. Remodeling in 1999 gave the building a complete facelift.